book tag // quarter year crisis

Hello! I hope you’re well.

It has been a minute since I last did a tag. I really enjoy the reflective nature of them (most of the time, some are certainly more random haha) – so I was so happy when Morgan @MorganIsReadingAgain tagged me in the Quarter Year Crisis Reading Tag. It’s one I enjoyed doing last year.

And of course, credit to the creator. Roisin’s Reading is the brains behind this one. Click the link to check out the video.

Now, without further ado. Let’s get to it!


How many books have you read so far?

I’m writing this post near the end of April, and I’ve just hit 44% my GoodReads goal of 52, currently standing at 23 books finished! February and March weren’t great months for me, but January and April have been amazing. If we’re going for dead on 3 months, I’d read 15 at the end of March.


Have you already found a book you think might be a 2024 favourite?

I’ve had 6 five stars reads so far (down from last years 12 by this point). Out of these House Witch 3 by Delemhach (final in a hilarious cosy fantasy series), The Midnight Library by Matt Haig (magical realism about choices and regrets), and If We Were Villains by M.L. Rio (dark academia mystery) are my top three contenders.


What was your favourite book you read that wasn’t quite five-star?

The Lost Bookshop by Evie Woods is probably by pick for this question. I was so totally swept up in this story, and I adore books with more than one timeline (especially when the past bleeds into the present). I’m not actually sure why I didn’t give this the whole 5 stars haha.


Any 1 star books / least favourite book of the year?

No 1-stars. My lowest-rated book so far is A Tempest of Tea by Hafsah Faizal. I gave It 2.5 – 3 stars, and I think that was generous… I buddy read it and we all felt the same. It was just boring for most of it, and felt really rushed. Vampires being in it could have been literally anything, it was kind of irrelevant. And there were characters so inconsequential that I’m not sure what they were doing there in the first place… But somehow, I feel like I need the next book – the end is such a change of pace to the rest in terms of content.


Most read genre so far?

Fantasy will always dominate for me at this point – but I do seem to have a good mix this year. Romance and Historical aren’t that far behind, which does not surprise me.


A book that surprised you?

I’m choosing Macbeth by William Shakespeare for this – I was surprised it was so short! I read it in one sitting on my commute into work.


Book that’s come out in 2024 already that you want to read but haven’t yet?

Oh gosh. I am terrible at remembering what has released when etc. I am currently reading Empire of the Damned by Jay Kristoff at last, but given that I’ve started it – I’ll go with The Familiar by Leigh Bardugo. I’m seeing really good things so far about it – I cannot wait to dive on in!


One goal you made that you’re succeeding at

Looking over my 2024 Goals post, I can see I am doing terrible at all of them haha. I guess, purely as there’s only a goal of 2 books, I’m doing well at reading two new (to me) classics. This month I read Emma by Jane Austen for the first time – so I’m halfway done with this one!


One goal you made you need to focus on

Everything! Haha. But probably the unhauling. I have a box of books I sorted at the end of last year that I’ve still not actually unhauled – and I need to go back through my shelves and pick put some more. My books will fits on my shelves again, I swear!


New to you Booktubers/bookstagrammer/booktokers for 2024 you recommend?

I have not really looked for new so far this year… I’ve stuck to the same blogs (who are all fantastic!), only just ventured back to bookstagram, and booktube has always been super bingey or just a desert for me. There is no in-between… I should discover some new creators before the year is out!


Questions:

How many books have you read so far?

Have you already found a book you think might be a 2024 favourite?

If not what was your favourite book you read that wasn’t quite five star?

Any 1 star books / least favourite book of the year?

Most read genre so far?

A book that surprised you?

Book that’s come out in 2024 already that you want to read but haven’t yet?

One goal you made that you’re succeeding at

One goal you made you need to focus on

New to you Booktubers/bookstagrammer/booktokers for 2024 you recommend?



15 responses to “book tag // quarter year crisis”

  1. Gosh, I’m eyeing those six five-star reads of yours so enviously – I haven’t had a single one yet! 😭 Although I’m starting to suspect that might just be because I’m overly critical…

    Still, it’s nice to see you’ve had such a successful quarter and I wish you the best of luck with your goals! Despite purging my shelves massively about two years ago, they’re still overflowing, so I feel the unhauling pain 😂 I guess that’s a problem every reader has to deal with at some point!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Absolutely haha 🙈 I definitely buy way faster than I read though 😅

      And nooo!! I hope you find one soon! To be fair, I signed up to a book reviewing site a couple of years ago, and it analysed my Goodreads ratings and said I tend to give books higher ratings than average 😂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. It seems like you’re having such a good reading year so far!! If We Were Villains was a favourite of mine last year!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s going well! I’ve been in a bit of slump and not read half the year in recent years 🙈 so it’s nice to be reading again! And it’s such a good book!! I don’t know why I kept putting it off haha

      Like

  3. Yay, you loved The Midnight Library! The Magical Read-a-thon always delivers some amazing choices!

    How did you like Emma??

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It really does!!!

      And yeah, I enjoyed it – but I’m afraid I think it is one the lower rated autsens for me 🙈 I’m just not a huge fan of Emma. But I think that’s also kind of the point – I’m sure I’ve seen quoted somewhere that Austen thought she’d be the only one who did like her 😅

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Haha, I’ve seen something similar, like she was meant to be unlikable. (I like her though. 😅)

        Liked by 1 person

  4. […] I follow… 🙈 But I do have two new lovely blogs to recommend! I adore the aesthetic of Hannah @ The Bookworm’s Feast – her website just feels so cosy and welcoming. And the lovely Ahaana @ Windows to Worlds, […]

    Like

  5. Abi of Pellinor avatar
    Abi of Pellinor

    I’ve not actually properly looked at my 1/4 year stats yet but I’ve had a surprising number of 5* reads! Have you read Rizzio? I can’t remember if you have and I think you would enjoy it (and it’s one of my 5*s haha)

    Like

  6. Abi of Pellinor avatar
    Abi of Pellinor

    I’ve not actually properly looked at my 1/4 year stats yet but I’ve had a surprising number of 5* reads! Have you read Rizzio? I can’t remember if you have and I think you would enjoy it (and it’s one of my 5*s haha)

    Like

  7. Abi of Pellinor avatar
    Abi of Pellinor

    I’ve not really checked out my 1/4 year stats yet but I’ve had a surprising amount of 5* reads already this year, I’m not complaining!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah that’s great to hear! 😄

      Liked by 1 person

  8. […] Hannah from The Bookworm Feast […]

    Like

  9. Loved reading your answers to this Tag ❤️ I’m glad to see that you liked The Midnight Library, I really enjoyed it as well! The House Witch looks SO cozy, I’ll have to check it out 🥰

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was so so cozy. I loved it!

      Like

Leave a comment

About Me

Books and food enthusiast. I discovered a love for reading in my late teens, so you’ll see me catching up on older series quite often. I also love to travel around the UK, where I live, and picking up some crafty hobbies – I hope to share snippets of this amongst all the book content. Other interests include gaming, podcasts, drinking too much tea, and trying to personify autumn.

– Hannah 🍂


Recent Bookstagram


Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started